Recall Franklin, Ryder for S.Africa ODIs

WELLINGTON-feb20: New Zealand has named all rounder James Franklin along with big-hitting Jesse Ryder and paceman Andy McKay in a 14-players squad for the Blackcaps' 3-match ODI international series at home against South Africa starting on Saturday.

The trio replaces injured pair of Dean Brownlie and Jacob Oram, and dropped young person Tom Latham, from the squad that whitewashed Zimbabwe in their 3-match series that done earlier this month.

The 19-year-old Latham, who made his ODI debut against Zimbabwe batting in the center order, had impressed during the series but would be sent back to domestic cricket to continue his increase, New Zealand Cricket said in a statement.

His remainder in our thinking for the future, national selection manager Kim Littlejohn said. James Franklin has been in good touch during the recent T20 series while Jesse has shown that he is ready for a return to top level cricket.

Andy McKay bolsters the bowling attack and deserves his spot after putting in constant performance across the summer. The ODI series opens in Wellington on Saturday, follow by matches in Napier February 29) and Auckland March 3.


Brendon McCollum (c), Michael Bates, Doug Bracewell, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Nathan McCollum, Andrew McKay, Kyle Mills, Tarun Nethula, Rob Nicol, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Kane Williamson.

No comments:

Post a Comment